Log in

Log in

Announcements for 2024 House and Senate Leadership Positions Begin

December 07, 2023 8:35 AM | Anonymous

The 2024 Legislature will be made up of 28 Republicans and 11 Democrats in the Senate and 73 Republicans and 32 Democrats in the House. 

House Leadership Nominations:

Rep. Phillip DeVillier, a Republican from Eunice has been nominated for speaker by the House GOP. Other nominations include:

  • Mark Wright (Covington) – Chair
  • John Illg (River Ridge) – Vice Chair
  • Troy Romero (Jennings) – Secretary
  • Michael Echols (Monroe) – Tresurer
  • Mike Johnson (Pineville) – Speaker Pro Tem Nominee (Not to be confused with U.S. Congressman Mike Johnson, Speaker of the House)

A formal vote for the leadership positions will be held in January.

Senate Leadership 

Senator Cameron Henry, a Republican from Metairie, has been nominated for Senate President, and Senator Jeremy Stine (Lake Charles) is expected to garner strong support for Senate Majority Leader. The new Senate Republican Delegation will meet for the first time in Baton Rouge on Thursday, Dec. 14 where senators will elect delegation officers.

House Democratic Caucus Leadership

Rep. Matthew Willard of New Orleans will serve as the new Caucus chair next term. 

Other members include: 

  • Rep. Marcus Bryant (New Iberia) – Vice Chair
  • Rep. Aimee Adatto Freeman (New Orleans) – Treasurer
  • Rep. Adrian Fisher (Monroe) - Whip

The organizational session of the Legislature (Inauguration Day), which will host formal votes for House speaker and Senate president, is scheduled for January 8, 2024. Among the first issues lawmakers will address in 2024 is the special redistricting session following a court order to create two majority-minority congressional districts. Other possible issues on the table for a special session include crime and insurance.

2041 Silverside Drive 
Baton Rouge, LA 70808

Search our Site

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software